ECPC Sub-groups

Career Development

To raise awareness of the different publishing functions and wealth of opportunities open to early career publishing professionals.

To provide resources to early career publishers to assist them in navigating their way through the various publishing roles available; and HR professionals to provide career advice to those deciding on their career path.

To advocate for diversity and inclusion within the publishing industry.

Charlotte Bruce, Wiley
Fiona Counsell, Taylor & Francis
Ryan Davies, Cambridge University Press 
Erin Foley, Copyright Clearance Center
Paula Kent, Institute of Physics
Kerys Martin, Wiley (Chair)
Sankeetha Nadarajah, Future Science Group
Rebecca Youé, BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT
Rebecca Woodhouse, Springer Nature



Acts as the communications arm of the STM ECPC, including leading its social media presence
Leads efforts to raise the profile of the ECPC, its priorities, and activities
Supports the other sub-committees with their outreach activities
Organises events and activities designed to help the ECPC achieve its priorities

Sara Bosshart, IWA Publishing
Charlotte Bruce, Wiley
Fiona Counsell, Taylor & Francis (Co-Chair)
Melissa Close, Emerald (Co-Chair)
Erin Foley, Copyright Clearance Center
Alice Hall, CSIRO
Matthew Kershis, AIP Publishing
Francesca Lake, Future Science Group



To facilitate the sharing of knowledge, expertise, skills, insights and experiences through the annual STM ECPC cross-company international mentoring programme, which pairs up individuals in STM member organisations to support professional development and career goals across all levels of seniority.

Sara Bosshart, IWA Publishing (Chair)
Annie Harvey, Cambridge University Press
Rachel Moriarty, Springer Nature
Maggie Simmons, The Geological Society
Qiuwan Zhuang, IoP Publishing


Graduate Publishing

To take the actions of the wider STM ECPC and ensure they are relevant to and discoverable by graduates. To engage with graduates, and appropriate academic institutions / publishing groups, to raise their awareness of STM publishing as a career option.

Francesca Lake, Future Science Group
Kerys Martin, Wiley
Jason Mitchell, Elsevier (Chair)
Rachel Moriarty, Springer Nature
Rebecca Ratty, Springer Nature